GF Vegan Banana Muffins

So, it’s been a while since I last shared a recipe with you guys.

But I’m coming back with one of my favorite recipes of all time: Minimalist Baker‘s Banana Almond Meal Muffins.

Since I started my Paleo, Dairy-free, and Gluten-free diet, I have been trying a lot of baking recipes, but I can genuinely tell you that this one topped them all.

The author of the recipe provides an option with eggs and vegan option, but since I think I am already consuming enough eggs during the week, I decided to go for the egg-free recipe.

The texture was amazing and the taste was just right, not too sweet, and not too “oat-y”.

I gotta admit that I was hesitating with going with the vegan option, as this might risk the fluffiness of the muffins, but I was wrong; I couldn’t believe I ended up with such fluffy muffins using only flax eggs. (Check the picture if you don’t believe me!)

If you’re wondering how you can replace eggs in recipes, simply combine 1 tablespoon of flax meal or chia seeds with 3 tablespoons water, for every egg. Place the mix in the refrigerator for 15 minutes, until you get a sticky egg-like texture.

And here, I have to mention that I have used homemade almond meal, that I did by simply throwing almonds in the processor. It’s super easy and cheaper than buying almond meal from supermarkets. When doing your own almond meal or flour, be careful not to leave them in the processor for long as they might start turning into almond butter. Yes, that’s also so easy to do! Just when you feel you have the texture of the almond meal, stop the processor and you’re set!

Below is the printable recipe that you can also save on your phone/tablet/computer for future reference. (Please note that almost the original recipe says that this serves 8, I only ended up with 6, it might be my slightly larger muffin tray)

I think this is Wanderluster’s first 5/5! We have a winner!

vegan-banana-almond-meal-muffins

 

 

 

One thought on “GF Vegan Banana Muffins

Leave a Reply

