Raw, Vegan, and Gluten-Free Cheesecake

July 30 is Cheesecake Day!

Honestly, I have never been a fan of Cheesecake and I always ended up feeling bad after having a bite of that dessert, after several attempts from my friends to make me like it.

But on this day, I decided to give it a try, knowing that this discomfort might have been due to my allergies to ingredients found in cheesecakes.

Whenever I can, I try to go for raw desserts, due to my increasing interest in consuming mostly whole foods. When you eat food in their uncooked and unprocessed form, you get much more benefits from them.

I finally found a gluten-free, dairy-free, raw and vegan cheesecake: Glutenfreeveganpantry‘s amazing Earl Grey Lemon Cheesecake!

Not only did I realize that cheesecakes are actually delicious, but an earl grey cheesecake? OMG YUM!

This dessert was a hit among my friends and family, even the non-allergic ones!

IMG_8718 1

In this recipe, I substituted agave nectar with maple syrup (or you can use honey), because of recent controversies concerning agave as a sugar substitute, containing very high levels of fructose.

Please note that I couldn’t find fresh blueberries, so I got organic and sugar-free canned ones and drained them, then soaked them in water to try and get as much of the syrup out. This is not really advised, and it is highly preferred if you could find fresh blueberries. After all, whole foods are better, remember?

Below is the printable recipe along with our rating! Enjoy!

Early-Grey-Lemon-Cheesecake

2 thoughts on “Raw, Vegan, and Gluten-Free Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

