How to shop healthy

June 18 is National Splurge Day!

Since I started with maintaining a healthy lifestyle, I began with splurging out on healthy food and ingredients instead of clothes *guilty*

So today, I will give you a few tips on how healthy shopping can be done, because trust me, it might feel like the hardest thing to do.

Living in a country where most healthy, gluten-free, dairy-free and paleo ingredients are imported, it is almost impossible to find everything I need. One thing I learned is that it’s a process that requires time and patience. You need to invest time and money so you can invest in a better, healthier and happier you.

“Everyone asks me why organic and natural food is so expensive; but have you ever wondered why fast and junk food is so cheap?”

One tip about finding whole food is that you should never expect to find everything you need in one place. Your shopping trip will soon be a road trip with different stops rather than having one final destination.

  • Start researching where you might find certain ingredients and sort them depending on stores and proximity.
  • Visit the different places and make a list of what you can find where, according to what you like.
  • Hang the list on your fridge and note down ingredients that you’re almost out of.
  • When a set of ingredients needs to be restocked, visit the appropriate store.

That way you avoid forgetting where your visit will be to restock on a certain item and you avoid recurrent visits to the same places.

I know, this might sound very complicated, but I promise you it will get easier once you get a hold of things, and most importantly, it’s a lifestyle worth adapting to.

As for where I find gluten-free, dairy-free, organic, paleo and natural ingredients in Beirut, below is a list of where I can find everything I need:

BioK Organic Store, Supermarket Metro Ghazir: http://www.biok.me/index.php

Live Organic, Naccache Main Road: http://www.liveorganicstore.com/

A New Earth Store, Achrafieh: https://www.facebook.com/ANEWEARTHSTORE/

Spinneys: http://www.spinneys.com

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “How to shop healthy

  1. Hey there,
    You should stop by Wesley’s Wholesale in Jnah – it’s my family’s business – we focus on American imports so there’s your fair share of classic American snacks & goodies but we’ve got a lot of healthy options to choose from too. Let me know if you ever want to pass by and I’ll give you a tour 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

