What’s in my Makeup Bag?

Choosing the right makeup is something I find very exhausting and yet crucial to every girl. I have to tell you that it took me a really long time to find the makeup that suits me best and these are the items that will be included in this post. Other makeup that I was still unsure about or that I believed I could find better, I decided not to talk about so that I don’t include misleading information.

Please note that finding the makeup that suits your skin type and color differs from one person to other and therefore, it is very important that you take the time to go to a makeup expert so you could experiment with makeup in order to find the right textures, shades and the appropriate skin care.

Also note that it is always better if you don’t stick to one brand as you can always find things that suit you better in different brands. You can see how not all my makeup is of the same brand, of course I tend to use one more than the others because it might be best for my case, but I always look at other brands and try them out as one might have the best mascara but not necessarily the right foundation, etc.

Here is a picture of the items I will be talking about today.

IMG_1064

IMG_1065

  • Bobbi Brown Hydrating eye cream:

Throughout this article, you will notice that my main issue is trying to hide the dark circles under my eyes. But at the same time, I do realize the importance of taking care of them instead of just trying to hide them. Thus, I use this cream before applying any makeup close to my eyes in order to protect this area and hydrate it properly. This cream is rich in mineral water and aloe vera, making it a great moisturizer for the area around the eyes, while calming and soothing dark circles. It also makes applying concealer easier and prepares the skin for makeup application.

  • Kiehl’s Micro-Blur Skin Perfector:

Before I talk about this product, I would like to mention that I previously used the Bobbi Brown Hydrating Cream which is similar to the one mentioned in point 1, but for the whole face. This is also a great product to use before applying makeup as it is both a moisturizer and a primer.

Currently, I have been trying the Kielh’s product and I also found it really good. The only difference is that it is only a moisturizer and not a primer as well, making it different than the Bobbi Brown cream. If you want a moisturizer and a primer at the same time, Bobbi Brown is the solution but if you already have a primer (which I will also be talking about in the next point) then Kielh’s is a suitable choice.

This product should also be applied before you start applying your make, to smooth the skin and hydrate it. It also refines the skin texture, minimizes the appearance of pores and helps your skin get better with time.

  • Sephora smoothing primer:

This primer is one of the best gel primers I have used. It creates a great base for makeup by smoothing and matifying the skin and it helps the makeup last longer. It is also a fragrance-free and non-comedogenic product, which means it won’t irritate your skin nor block your pores.

  • Sephora’s daily make up brush cleaner:

This product is not for application, but I thought it is essential to talk about, as it is a must for every girl. If you do not clean your brushes, I think you should seriously consider start doing so. If you use a spray cleaner like this one, you won’t have to rinse your brushes. It is very easy to use as you simply spray it all over the brush, gently wipe the brush onto a cloth to remove make up and let it dry. As simple as that. This cleanser can be used daily and it contains an anti-bacterial agent that quickly removes traces of make up.

IMG_1066

  • Bobbi Brown’s full coverage face and touch up brush:

This brush remains my favorite of all times. It is a double brush designed to apply concealer on one side and foundation on the other. I have never experience a smoother make up application than when using this brush. I advise you to try it to know what I’m talking about.

  • Bobbi Brown’s intensive skin serum corrector:

This serum target dark circles. Again, my weak point! It is perfect as a base for concealer as it brightens the skin for a fresher look. Simply apply it on dark circles, up to the lashline and inner corner of the eye. I personally use the number 11 in peach.

  • Bobbi Brown’s skin weightless powder foundation:

I have not much to say about this product except that I have honestly never found a better shade nor texture for my skin. I have discovered it recently and I couldn’t be happier! This is the number 4 natural shade.

IMG_1068

  • Bobbi Brown’s Eye Shadow and eye definer brush:

Being really bad at applying eye liner, I have found this product a life saver! It is really simple to apply, doesn’t really show imperfections and constitutes a very light eyeliner in contrast to the black really defined ones. The color I use is number 32 espresso. The brush also makes things easier.

  • Bobbi Brown’s bronze eye palette:

This comes in four different colors and shades. I personally use the bottom right the most (the darkest).

IMG_1069

  • L’oreal glam bronzer

This is a face and body bronzing powder that gives a velvety texture with pure bronze colour pigments for a natural glow and sun-kissed look all year round! I personally use the number 02 capri-naturale and I only use it in summer and the beginning of fall, when my skin is darker and I would like to give a glow to my face. During winter, I like my face to have a closer shade to my body’s skin color and therefore I try not to use and use only a blush.

  • Mac’s Blush

I use the Warm Soul shade for application on my cheek bones.

  • Mac’s lustre lipstick and lip pencil

For red lips, I use the REDD lip pencil and Cockney lipstick.

IMG_0901

I hope this post was helpful for you for choosing some of your make up. As I already said before, always seek a professional for experimenting with make up. Some brands offer free make up lessons as long as you buy a certain number of products afterwards. This would be a great opportunity for you to try and choose.

Wanderluster.inc

Leave a Reply

