A Letter to my Parents

I don’t even know how to start this post as emotions are flowing but my fingers are paralyzed by the intensity of the feeling.

I know that expressing my gratitude and love for my parents can never be completely satisfying no matter how much I try, but I’m willing to take a shot.

First of all, I want to sincerely apologize to my parents for every time I have let them down. I want to apologize for the times when I thought I knew better, when I have disrespected or disobeyed them and for all the times to come. As children, we tend to do these things without really understanding a single thing about life and, I’m not saying that once we realize that we will stop doing them, because that’s what we do and if we knew better we wouldn’t be humans who mature with time. Let’s admit that our parents are the ones who have always seen the worst parts in us. After all, who else would we talk to, shout at, let everything out with and still forgive us after all? We tend to take it out on our parents because we know they’re the only ones who will be there at the end of the day, no judging, no resentment. But I have grown with them as my main weak point. I can’t bear seeing them cry or simply mad and worried.

I also want to apologize for every time someone else has caused them harm, for all the times I have been helpless and couldn’t make things better for them.

Second, I want to thank them. Now here, I cannot really sum up all the things I am thankful for. Mom, Dad, you have made me who I am today; every thing that I am has been the result of all your love, support and sacrifices. Thank you for being my shoulder to cry on, my pillow to hug after a rough day at school. Thank you for all the times you stood by me, thank you for accepting my flaws and mistakes and for punishing me so these would turn into reason and experience. Thank you for giving me everything I ever laid eyes on, even if you couldn’t even afford the necessities. But most importantly, thank you for letting me be me. And thank you for making me love you so much. I would’ve hated to grow up into a person who doesn’t appreciate everything his parents have ever done to him.

Dear Mom, I wish you knew how proud I am of you. You have worked as hell to be where you are today. You are self-made, powerful, strong, smart, successful and yet feminine, gorgeous and most importantly caring for your family and friends. I have seen eyes glow wherever you went, I have heard people talk about how you have changed their lives and say how you have inspired them and grown to be their role model. And just like a cherry on top of a huge cake, you have always been my best friend. You have listened to my silly stories over and over again. You have been there for me, holding my hand each step of the way. You have introduced me to the world and showed me things I have never dreamt of seeing. I will forever be thankful for that no matter how many times I might seem ungrateful. Please understand that every time I have acted that way, I have spent the next week regretting it. I have never meant to hurt you in any way. Mom, you are my best friend, my role model and my whole life. I can’t imagine a life without you.

Check out my article: Why I’m glad to have been raised by a working mother.

Dear Dad, I have never seen a man like you, someone so strong and yet so good-hearted. You are my model of balance and perfection. You have taught me how to be assertive, yet kind and fair. I want to take this opportunity to tell you how much I appreciate you and how much you work to give us everything we need in life. Despite the times when I disagree with you, I have never doubted you. You have always supported me through the biggest steps in my life. I can never forget how I used to come to you crying that I don’t want to go to school, and you would answer with: then don’t! For a kid, this means the world. For a girl, hearing that from her dad, I always knew that I have someone who’d always have my back no matter what. Some people might think that you saying that to me as child would turn me into a careless and irresponsible person; but that’s nothing close to the truth. You only helped me grow into a woman who’s more independent and who holds more responsibility towards her parents to always do the best she could and accomplish as much as she could to make her parents proud; her parents that understood her and appreciated her. Daddy, please know that I love you from the bottom of my heart and it kills me to ever know that you are not okay.

To all the people who are reading this post, it might seem a more personal topic than any of the others, but for me, this is a place where I can write about anything that crosses my mind and that I believe is worth sharing with you. I hope after you finish reading this, you realize just a tiny bit how much our parents have done and are still doing for us. If you ever lose them, you have lost your power, your support and your backbone. They are the only ones who will be there when the rest of the world turns its back. Go ahead, tell your parents how much you love them and respect them; even a single thank you can make a huge difference. They spend their lives making us happy, one word could make the world a better place for them. Better late than never.

Wanderluster.inc

One thought on “A Letter to my Parents

Leave a Reply

